The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

7 Dec

Yep, I know I’m ripping off the title from a Clint Eastwood movie.  I’ve never seen it, but I will say he was a stone-cold fox back in the day.

Oh heyyyy, blue eyes. You're smokin'! (Literally! Hahaha I'm hilarious)

Ahem.  Anyhow.

So, I’ve got a few things to report and will do so in the order of the movie title.

THE GOOD

I had to be at work at 7 AM this morning for a meeting.  (Hear me out– this is obviously not the good part.)  I got up at 4:45 and ran a pretty good 6-miler AND made it to work on time.  Holla!  I’m really paranoid that I’m losing all the speed I gained training for Columbus/NYCM, especially since I’ve now blown off my running class 3 weeks in a row (not good.)  So I made myself toss in a faster mile, (for me) just to make sure I’m still somewhat of a runner.  The entire run averaged something like 8:20ish miles, but mile 5 was 7:20ish.  Solid effort.

THE BAD

Sooo… turns out T has to work and thus cannot accompany me to California for marathon #12.  This sucks a lot, because we had tickets booked and everything.  Consider me very sad.  I am completely unsure of what I am going to do.  But I have this bad feeling that this race is cursed for me.  I was supposed to run it last year, but had to pull out due to a family member being hospitalized. 😦  You may be thinking, “But Katie, why don’t you just go run it with a different companion?”  Excellent question!  That brings us to…

THE UGLY

I don’t know where to begin, so I’ll just say, check out my sexy new footgear for bed.

Say hello to Das Boot, as T calls it

Yep.  I have to wear this sucker to bed from here until… uh, not really sure when.  Remember how I mentioned that I had a foot issue and saw a doc the day after NYCM?  That issue never really went away, but it was bearable enough that I could sorta kinda ignore it.  But then last week when I ramped up to 48 miles, my dog was barkin’.  Kelly recommended her sports med dude and he got me in for an appointment quickly.  He also did not make me wait 2+ hours in the waiting room (what a concept.)  He also x-rayed my foot and showed it to me.

That’s not my foot, but that is basically what it looked like.  That li’l heel spur is the telltale sign of the dreaded plantar fasciitis.

So, there we have it:  the real reason my right foot has been a little b*tch for the past month and a half or so.

So the doc gave me the sexy boot to wear to bed, which I’ve been doing.  He told me to stretch a lot, which I’ve been doing.  He told me to roll out the bottom of my foot with a frozen water bottle, which I’ve been doing.  And he said to try not to be barefoot ever and to always try and be wearing shoes with support.  Mostly doing this  — though it’s hard, ’cause it’s been raining and I’ve been wearing rainboots to commute.  And I can’t wear sneakers at work.  But I have been wearing my sneaks around my apartment, rather than going barefoot.

He also said that I should cut back on running and basically implied that I shouldn’t do the marathon in Feb.  I hope I don’t regret having shared this, because I just don’t know what I’m going to do.  But there it is.

I don’t really know what else to say.  The boot and rolling out my foot have already made my foot feel better.  But it’s still not normal.  And I want it to be.  And I don’t want to cut back on running!  Though I know I should!  I’m going in circles here…

That’s all I’ve got for now.  If anyone has any PF stories, I’d LOVE to hear ’em!

9 Responses to “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly”

  1. Josie December 7, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey there how’s it going?

    I had plantar fasciitis a few years back and it takes a little while to get better (but a lot less than some other injuries). Not really what you want to hear- but rest is the best thing. And also as your doc said, frozen water bottle- golf ball works as well. Stretching.

    I think you should cut back on the running, but you can maintain your fitness with cross training. The elyptical and the exercise bike don’t tend to stress it too much. Plus sometimes on the bike I swing my arms like i’m running (but thats just me).

    Best of luck!! (oh and my doc told me cool it with the converse… apparently the flat rubber sole does nothing good for the plantar!)

    • Katie December 7, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      Thanks, Josie! Great to hear from you, and I really appreciate your input! 🙂

  2. runningseal December 7, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I started to feel a little pain in the bottom of my foot right before my 2nd marathon which might have been the beginnings of PF but I was lucky I got rid of it before the race by rolling on this massage ball for feet. Highly recommend the little green spikey ball.

    As for CA… if you need a companion…I’d consider going for the half!!!

    • Katie December 7, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Jealous you got rid of it relatively easily! I hope the same happens for me, but I am not feeling so hopeful. 😦
      I will keep you posted as far as CA. Obviously right now, no idea what the plan is. 😦

  3. Kristy December 8, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    oh no katie! you really should rest. i know, it’s the last thing you want to hear but maybe 2 weeks of reduced mileage and easy runs will nip it in the bud for good? i hope so 🙂

    • Katie December 8, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

      Yes… I know. 😦 I am going to try hard and make myself not run for the next 2 weeks, with a few exceptions. I am doing a 5K charity run with Girls on the Run on Sat morning and am doing a 15K next weekend for my final point for NYC marathon entry next year. The 5K shouldn’t be a huge deal, but the 15K may be another story. Blah.

  4. Kelly December 8, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I had PF! For a really long time a few years ago. I tried everything and what ended up working was a cortisone shot and custom orthotics. to this day I still never walk around barefoot and always need supportive shoes though. It’s such an annoying injury! But, maybe a little easing up on the mileage will do you good! I’m trying to think if ART or Graston could help that… maybe?

    • Katie December 8, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

      Yep, easing up. It’s painful! I know you understand!

  5. thethinksicanthink December 9, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Never had PF and hope I never do! Sorry to hear that you have it. Are you going to try to do the marathon in Feb or scrap it?

    You can come aqua jog with me. Its so fun and really good for the hair and skin.

Leave a comment